top of page
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Falcone-Pawar

The ultimate chair

Before you have open-heart surgery some of the questions you are aren't necessarily all about your heart. There are some questions you need to ask about comfort, sleeping, pain, etc. Something that I did not think to ask and was advised to ask was, how in the heck am I going to sleep!! For that question there was one answer I got constantly.


It wouldn't be possible to sleep laying all the way down for a while and would be uncomfortable to sleep other than in a recliner. My amazing husband took me to La-Z-Boy immediately and told me to pick out any chair I wanted. We wanted something comfortable, since I would be sleeping on it every night for a couple months and something easy to adjust.


After surgery I barely left that recliner. It became my clutch. Your body is so uncomfortable, in pain and so many positions aren't ideal so that recliner was part of my recovery. But I found it hard to sit in it after my recovery was complete. It became a reminder of my surgery, recovery and a tough time in my life so I avoided it. Then after we took our Christmas tree down we had this huge spot in our front room that I needed to fill. I had an idea to move the recliner to our front room and make a little relaxation corner for me. I bought and put together a bookshelf to go under the windows, a little side table, incense and candles and some journals and would you know it the recliner fit PERFECTLY in the corner.


Now I am able to sit in the recliner for a calm meditation, or a journaling session and think positively as opposed to only remember the bad times. I call that a win! Also if you need an amazing meditation app that is free (WIN) I use Insight Timer, I LOVE IT!




76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page