top of page
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Falcone-Pawar

One Year Surgery Anniversary

Updated: Nov 16, 2020

November 15th, 2020 marked one year since my open-heart surgery. 365 days ago I underwent aortic root replacement surgery.


The fact that I can say that while feeling amazing is something that I cry about while writing. On November 14th, 2019 I was admitted into NY Presbyterian on West 70th Street in Manhattan. On the drive in I had so many emotions going through my head. I think I can finally admit some of the feelings I was having now been one year post-op. When you are about to have a life-changing surgery, especially one as major as open-heart surgery hthere are certain thoughts that pop into your head. they cannot say but he is pretty damn close) But when you are going through it, it is very difficult not to think the worst.


I was only 29 years old, I hadn't gotten married yet, didn't have kids yet and had a life ahead of me, but for those 24 hours some of those things seemed out of reach. Being able to reflect on this a year out is truly amazing. I am feeling 100% back to normal and am getting stronger.


Thinking back to that day is tough. It is emotional and gut-wrenching. But I am forever grateful for my amazing surgeon, cardiologist, nurses, anesthesiologists, my family & friends. My support system and medical team got me to where I am today. I am where I am now because of them.


I am thankful, grateful and blessed to be here today and as healthy as I am right now. It was a long and hard journey. It was painful, depressing, sad, long and tiring BUT I am alive and healthy and thriving, and that is all I can ask for.


146 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page