top of page
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Falcone-Pawar

One-of-a-kind Person

The COVID-19 crisis changed quite a bit in my life, besides the normal amount! When the quarantine started I was on edge and super anxious since I was only 6 months post-op from my heart surgery but it also gave Jerrad and I some time to think and plan for the future. Surrogacy was something we were working towards financially and mentally. COVID gave us the time to do research and spend some time on the surrogacy process. We were able to speak with and look at our agency options. We spoke with couples who have gone through the process and our fertility clinic and ended up finding an agency that was perfect for us.


When you first your surrogacy journey there are some things to know.

1 - You should research and speak with a couple different agencies to find your perfect fit. Not only do you need a perfect fit in a surrogate but also the agency handling this relationship.

2 - Speak with others who have been through the process. Although couples who have been through the process may not be easy to find, getting advice from people who have actually experienced this are the best to speak with.

3 - Listen to your gut. If there is an agency that you feel is right, go with them! You are going to spend a lot of time, money and trust into this agency and you need to do what is best for you.

4 - It takes time, a lot of time. When you sign on with an agency we were told you could be on the list to be matched with a surrogate for 1-2 years. So if we wanted a baby within 2-3 years we needed to start ASAP! (how nuts!)


In the end we signed on with an agency and we couldn't be happier. After signing all the initial paperwork, beginning payments and checking off the first box, things changed in a heartbeat.


We got a call from Jerrad's cousin that changed our life. I had spoken to Jerrad's extended family about my health issues and fertility options at a 4th of July family party last year. That open and honest conversation I had with Jerrad's family was the beginning of a life-changing decision. Jerrad's cousin was calling us to offer to be our surrogate. I think I dropped the phone and cried for 2 hours. I couldn't speak, I couldn't even think. I could not imagine there being someone so selfless and amazing, but here she was. And just like that our journey drastically changed.



60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page