top of page
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Falcone-Pawar

Anxiety

Updated: Oct 12, 2020

Anxiety is a struggle. It manifests in many different ways and is hard to describe at times. Panic attacks, heart palpitations, anxiety attacks, light headedness, sweating, crying, screaming, fear. All of these things are under the anxiety umbrella and anyone who deals with anxiety whether it is a one-off or chronically, it is hard to deal with and scary at times.


There have been times in my life that have been more anxiety ridden than others, which is life I suppose. I started my struggle with anxiety in college and it got worse as time went on. There is a huge list of things that I have tried when I am either anxious or on the verge of an anxiety attack. Sleeping, showering, meditating, breathing techniques, watching tv, walking, working out, finding a new hobby, etc. There are so many different ways people deal with anxiety it is hard to chose what to try and finding what works.


I have been in therapy at several times in my life. Many people either refuse to try therapy, do not believe in it and some people do not like to admit that they are in therapy or have been in it. I find it so helpful to be able to speak to someone who can potentially help you. Therapy is something that means something different to each individual person. It can help people in different ways and for me I have had success with therapy. I have had quite a few therapists in my life so far and I have to say each of them helped me with something different. Each therapist has a unique way they talk, give advice and deal with their clients. I have found it to be very helpful and something I turn to when I need it.

Also another taboo part of anxiety, medication. Many people, like myself, have trouble being open with the fact that they are on medication for anxiety. I have found myself either not telling people the truth or being ashamed when I admit it. But I am proud of my progress I have made with my anxiety and it has been quite a rollercoaster ride over the past decade with anxiety and I have turned to daily medication and I am grateful I did. There is no one MAGIC PILL, although I wish there was! But medication is a great way to help on a daily basis to control the symptoms of anxiety or depression.


Another part of my anxiety was obviously due to my Marfan Syndrome. Every 6 months getting my heart & aorta checked and knowing at any time things can change and I would need surgery. That is something that wore on me and obviously that did happen and I did have surgery and now I am on the other side. After recovering and mentally recovering (still in the process) I figured my anxiety would just subside, unfortunately that is not how it works! I am still in progress and I have great weeks/months without anxiety and other times it is consistent but I try my best to not let me bad days get me down and remember that I control my anxiety, not the other way around.

89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page